Menu

Virginia Meets to Elect Delegates

March 03, 1788

Dates of Election for the Virginia Convention

(* Results Contested)

Monday, 3 March Northumberland Tuesday, 18 March
Amherst Stafford Augusta
Charlotte Sussex Berkeley
Franklin Washington Bourbon
Gloucester Lincoln
Henrico  Tuesday, 11 March Russell
Ohio Botetourt
Prince William Nelson Thursday, 20 March
Richmond County Northampton Charles City
Williamsburg Prince George Norfolk County
Powhatan
Tuesday, 4 March  Wednesday, 12 March
Frederick  Fayette Monday, 24 March
Jefferson Bedford
Montgomery Brunswick*
Rockbridge Cumberland*
Spotsylvania Thursday, 13 March Fauquier
Albemarle Halifax
Thursday, 6 March Caroline King William
Campbell Chesterfield Middlesex
Fluvanna Hampshire Norfolk Borough
Hanover Lunenburg Orange
King George New Kent Randolph
Princess Anne Rockingham
Friday, 7 March Southampton
Isle of Wight Warwick Tuesday, 25 March
Accomack
 Monday, 10 March Monday, 17 March Greenbrier
Buckingham Culpeper Madison
Hardy Dinwiddie Mercer
Henry Essex Surrey
James City Fairfax Westmoreland
King and Queen Goochland
Loudoun Harrison Thursday, 27 March
Louisa* Lancaster Amelia
Mecklenburg Pittsylvania Elizabeth City
Monongalia Prince Edward Greensville
Nansemond York Shenandoah

 

Source: The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution Digital Edition, ed. John P. Kaminski, Gaspare J. Saladino, Richard Leffler, Charles H. Schoenleber and Margaret A. Hogan. Charlottesville: University of Virginia Press, 2009.

 

TeachingAmericanHistory.org is a project of the Ashbrook Center at Ashland University

401 College Avenue | Ashland, Ohio 44805 (419) 289-5411 | (877) 289-5411 (Toll Free)

info@TeachingAmericanHistory.org