29 July – 15 October 1946
Paris Peace Conference
At Paris representatives from the main Allied powers—the United States, Great Britain, the Soviet Union, and France—drew up peace agreements with Finland, Hungary, Bulgaria, Rumania, and Italy. Each country was required to pay reparations to the Allies, and most had to accept the loss of some territory to neighboring states. All of them had to promise to guarantee “the enjoyment of human rights and of the fundamental freedoms, including freedom of expression, of press and publication, of religious worship, of political opinion and of public meeting.” Furthermore they pledged to fight against any resurgence of fascism within their countries.

The treaties were actually signed on February 10, 1947, at which point Finland, Hungary, Bulgaria, Rumania, and Italy were deemed eligible for membership in the United Nations.

- Paris Peace Conference, July 29 to October 15, 1946